Jumping into PC Gaming

I’m finally able to enter the wonderful world of PC gaming. For the longest time, PC gaming was something I ignored as my laptop was a absolute toaster and was barely able to manage anything more than the Solitare and Minesweeper that came packaged with the computer.

This was primarily since the graphics card on my laptop was non-existent and the RAM was laughably low for gaming. I really did try though, but Half-Life Episode 2 would freeze when there was too much going on and League of Legends would take forever to load into a match (much to the frustration of my teammates.)

But that’s all in the past now. I recently picked up a Laptop that can run most games at high with little problems. I know that a gaming desktop would be much better, but since I’m a busy college student, the laptop is just so much more convenient. I figure that I can get a desktop later. But I digress, I’m glad that I now have access to the wide array of games that I was otherwise unable to enjoy as there are a number of PC titles that become more fun than their console counterparts. One of the best examples that I can think of is The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion, which has a number of hilarious and fun mods that can be added.

Some of the other titles that I recently got for PC were Portal 2, Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic and Team Fortress 2.I also downloaded the demo for Amnesia: The Dark Descent, which succeeded in scaring me more than any other game I’ve played so far.

That and I’ve become hopelessly addicted to MOBA games, specifically League of Legends.

I’ll be picking up more PC games over the holidays so I can start doing Let’s Play’s over my Livestream channel, so If anyone has good suggestions feel free to send them my way.

About Preston Sotelo

I am a videogame journalist with a passion for the artistic expression and unique experience that videogames can offer. I also have a passion for sci-fi, fantasy and Japanese anime.

Posted on December 17, 2011, in Gaming News, Gaming Trends and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Same thing happened to me, I just got my pc a little less than a year ago and have been picking up titles that were known for mods and just for being better on the PC.

    During the steam Christmas sale or new years sale whenever it goes down try to pick up L4D.

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one. I have let a good deal of great experiences pass me by as I have been unable to enjoy any good PC games for the past few years. But now I will be sure to go back and experience some of PC’s greatest games.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

